Inspiring Communicator Awards 2016

Nominations for CharityComms’ Inspiring Communicators Awards 2016 are now closed.

The winners will be announced at our awards evening on Thursday 24 November.

About the Inspiring Communicator Awards

The Inspiring Communicator Awards recognise and celebrate people who are inspirational communicators within or for their organisations. 

Our Awards highlight those people who particularly demonstrate professionalism, expertise and – above all – inspiration in their use of communications for a cause or charity.

Who can be entered?

Anybody can be entered – colleague, employee, manager, volunteer, consultant/agency contact, even your CEO. The nominee doesn't have to have 'communications' in their job title – just running through their veins. Remember: these awards are for individuals, so please don’t nominate your whole comms team or groups of colleagues.

What does it cost?

It's free to nominate if you are an individual or organisational member or a corporate partner of CharityComms. Nominations will only be accepted from CharityComms members. If you're not sure if you or your organisation is a CharityComms member, or would like to join, please contact

You don't need to worry whether the person you are nominating is a member or not.

What are the criteria for winning an award?

At its most basic, the person nominated needs to be inspiring. The kind of criteria the judges will be looking at include:

  • Their professionalism and high standards
  • Their innovation and creativity
  • Their communications internally
  • Their communications with volunteers
  • Their dedication to their work
  • Their championing of the cause/charity externally
  • Their pioneering of new communications skills and knowledge
  • Their efforts to help others in the charity sector be better overall communicators
  • Their ability to make things happen

The more areas a person is inspiring in the better – but the judges will be looking at your nomination for what you feel shines through most strongly.

How do I nominate someone?

You'll need to wait until 2017 now to nominate someone for an award, but when the time comes you just need to fill in a four question nomination form. It's as simple as that. Please don't tell the person that you are nominating them, to avoid disappointment if they don't win! Feel free to nominate more than one candidate (although you'll need to fill in a form for each, and don’t forget – no teams). No selfies please. And remember that the judges will be basing their decision on this entry form, so please try and do your nominee justice.

Who is judging the 2016 awards?

The judges are Vicky Browning, director of CharityComms; CharityComms’ vice chair  of trustees, Gail Scott-Spicer (chief executive of Carers Trust); and Inspiring Communicator Award 2015 winners, David Bowles (head of public affairs, RSPCA), Emma Guise (director of communications, Macmillan Cancer Support, and Sarah Marl (marketing and communications manager, EFDS) and Hanif Leylabi, communications officer at the Paul Hamlyn Foundation and CharityComms trustee.

What's the deadline for entering?

The deadline for 2016 nominations is now closed. The winners will be announced at our Awards evening on 24 November.

Any questions? Please email